Keurig Dreams Do Come True

Since buying our Keurig a year ago, it probably has been used at least 6 days a week, every single week. Between Jordan’s coffee addiction and my tea addiction, (I’m not drinking coffee while pregnant) our Keurig doesn’t catch a break. I also use the Keuring just for hot water to make oatmeal almost daily.

The cost of K Cups really adds up, especially since we both use at least one per day, and if company comes over we can easily go through at least half a box in one day. Luckily, Costco has recently started selling their Kirkland brand of K Cups. These cost about .33 cents a piece and come in a 100 pack. That is a huge savings compared to .75 cents to $1 per cup! Jordan has been enjoying the “Pacific Bold” flavor for the past few months.

Instead of paying $12 at target for 18 cups of tea, I have started just brewing my tea with the hot water from the Keurig and a tea bag. This works nicely other than the fact that it is hot here so I have been drinking iced tea. So, making my tea requires extra steps. I brew it in a mug and then after it steeps for about 5-10 minutes, I pour it over ice. This works fine, but the extra steps and time it takes to steep adds up when I am already rushing out the door.

Last night at small group I was introduced to the most wonderful thing, “Simple Cups.” They are disposable K Cups that you put your own coffee grinds or tea in! I know that there has been a reusable cup around for a while, but we like convenience and not having the extra cleanup.

These disposable K Cups are available on amazon for $15 for 50 and you can use any coffee or tea in them. They come with the cup, lids and liners. Let me tell you how nice it was to try one of these K Cups out last night and just brew my tea right over a glass of ice and be able to drink it right away. I am just so excited about this discovery right now and had to gush about it!!!

ImageImage

Standard

Leave a Reply

